To have a license from the Régie du bâtiment (RBQ), you must qualify for various fields of expertise such as: administration, site safety management, project management and work execution (for general contractors). Furthermore, when you execute specific work such as electricity or plumbing, additional qualifications are needed. If you have an RBQ license or are a guarantor on a license, your probity has been checked. In other words, your sense of honesty and justice has been analyzed. Becoming a guarantor is therefore not a guaranteed process. Also, and most importantly, becoming an RBQ license guarantor is not offered to everyone. What does becoming a guarantor mean? Being a guarantor means becoming accountable for the management of business operations to the government, employees, subcontractors and clients. BEWARE, complacent guarantors! If you are not playing an active and constant role in the business, you cannot be a guarantor. The latter must be a full-time manager or leader working the company’s usual business hours. You cannot use someone’s skills qualification to comply with the obligations for obtaining or maintaining an RBQ license. If you offer incentives or if someone does it for free without truly being involved in company management, this would be referred to as a nominee. For more information, contact our experts at 514-739-2381, ext. 120.

Being a guarantor… not a trivial thing!

11 July 2019

To have a license from the Régie du bâtiment (RBQ), you must qualify for various fields of expertise such as: administration, site safety management, project management and work execution (for general contractors). Furthermore, when you execute specific work such as electricity or plumbing, additional qualifications are needed.

If you have an RBQ license or are a guarantor on a license, your probity has been checked. In other words, your sense of honesty and justice has been analyzed.

Becoming a guarantor is therefore not a guaranteed process. Also, and most importantly, becoming an RBQ license guarantor is not offered to everyone.

What does becoming a guarantor mean?

Being a guarantor means becoming accountable for the management of business operations to the government, employees, subcontractors and clients.

BEWARE, complacent guarantors!

If you are not playing an active and constant role in the business, you cannot be a guarantor. The latter must be a full-time manager or leader working the company’s usual business hours.

You cannot use someone’s skills qualification to comply with the obligations for obtaining or maintaining an RBQ license. If you offer incentives or if someone does it for free without truly being involved in company management, this would be referred to as a nominee.

For more information, contact our experts at 514-739-2381, ext. 120.

Pour posséder une licence de la Régie du bâtiment (RBQ), vous devez vous qualifier dans différents domaines de compétence tels que : administration, gestion de la sécurité sur les chantiers, gestion de projets et exécution des travaux (pour les entrepreneurs généraux). De plus, lorsque vous effectuez des travaux spécifiques comme l’électricité ou encore des travaux de plomberie, des qualifications supplémentaires sont nécessaires. Si vous avez une licence RBQ ou que vous êtes répondant sur une licence, cela signifie que votre probité a été vérifiée. C’est-à-dire votre sens de l’honnêteté et de la justice a été analysé. Devenir répondant n’est donc pas un processus garanti. Et surtout, devenir répondant de licence RBQ ne peut être offert à n’importe qui. Que signifie devenir répondant ? Être répondant, c’est devenir responsable de la gestion et des opérations de l’entreprise envers le gouvernement, les employés, les sous-traitants et les clients. ATTENTION, répondant de complaisance! Si vous n’êtes pas impliqué de manière réelle et constante dans l’entreprise, vous ne pouvez être un répondant. Le répondant doit être un dirigeant ou un gestionnaire à temps plein qui travaille selon les heures d’affaires habituelles de l’entreprise. Vous ne pouvez pas vous servir de la qualification aux compétences d’une personne pour être conforme aux obligations d’obtention ou de maintien de la licence RBQ. Si vous offrez des avantages ou si encore une personne le fait gratuitement sans qu’elle soit réellement impliquée dans la gestion de l’entreprise, il s’agit d’un cas de prête-nom. Pour plus d'information, contactez nos experts au 514-739-2381 poste 120

Être répondant… ce n'est pas banal!

11 juillet 2019

Pour posséder une licence de la Régie du bâtiment (RBQ), vous devez vous qualifier dans différents domaines de compétence tels que : administration, gestion de la sécurité sur les chantiers, gestion de projets et exécution des travaux (pour les entrepreneurs généraux). De plus, lorsque vous effectuez des travaux spécifiques comme l’électricité ou encore des travaux de plomberie, des qualifications supplémentaires sont nécessaires.

Si vous avez une licence RBQ ou que vous êtes répondant sur une licence, cela signifie que votre probité a été vérifiée. C’est-à-dire votre sens de l’honnêteté et de la justice a été analysé.

Devenir répondant n’est donc pas un processus garanti. Et surtout, devenir répondant de licence RBQ ne peut être offert à n’importe qui.

Que signifie devenir répondant ?

Être répondant, c’est devenir responsable de la gestion et des opérations de l’entreprise envers le gouvernement, les employés, les sous-traitants et les clients.

ATTENTION, répondant de complaisance!

Si vous n’êtes pas impliqué de manière réelle et constante dans l’entreprise, vous ne pouvez être un répondant. Le répondant doit être un dirigeant ou un gestionnaire à temps plein qui travaille selon les heures d’affaires habituelles de l’entreprise.

Vous ne pouvez pas vous servir de la qualification aux compétences d’une personne pour être conforme aux obligations d’obtention ou de maintien de la licence RBQ. Si vous offrez des avantages ou si encore une personne le fait gratuitement sans qu’elle soit réellement impliquée dans la gestion de l’entreprise, il s’agit d’un cas de prête-nom.

Pour plus d’information, contactez nos experts au 514-739-2381 poste 120